Skip to main content

​At a regional level, we work closely with the five Regional Tourism Organisations, who play a key role in marketing their particular regions. Other bodies include the nine Regional Development Commissions.

Regional Tourism Organisations (RTOs)

Tourism regions

WA is divided into five tourism regions, each with its own RTO, which is the peak marketing and management body for that particular region. We provide funding to the RTOs so they can deliver region-focused intrastate campaigns and support our interstate and international marketing. The RTOs are our eyes and ears on the ground and an important link between us and the local industry. They build strong relationships with local tourism organisations and local governments to achieve better tourism outcomes and make the most of marketing activities. In most cases, the RTOs take the lead in marketing activities with the support of these organisations.

How they can help

  • Provide marketing opportunities to tourism business to encourage direct bookings
  • Keep you informed of industry news and updates
  • Trade coaching and representation
  • Facilitate industry development opportunities

Find out more

Map of WA's five tourism regions

Download the map of WA's five tourism regions boundaries (PDF 988KB).

Contact your local RTO:

Regional Development Commissions

Western Australia has nine Regional Development Commissions whose role is to promote the economic and social development of a particular part of the State.

How they can help

  • Work with stakeholders to develop a tourism strategy for the region

Find out more

View the list of Regional Development Commissions in WA.

Last Reviewed: 2024-01-17