Skip to main content

Intrastate travel

Regional travel throughout Western Australia is currently permitted, except into remote Aboriginal communities.

Interstate travel

As of 12.01am on November 14, 2020, WA transitioned to a controlled interstate border, whereby travel from ‘very low risk’ and 'low risk' states and territories is permitted, with conditions on arrival including declarations, temperature tests and possible COVID-19 testing.

'Very low risk' jurisdictions are those that have had no community cases for at least 28 days. This currently includes the ACT, Northern Territory, Tasmania, Queensland, South Australia and New South Wales.

Victoria is currently classified as a 'low risk' state. This means travel from Victoria into Western Australia is permitted with conditions including health screenings, 14 days of self-quarantine and presenting for a COVID-19 test on day 11 if still in WA.

All travellers must complete a G2G Pass declaration prior to entry.

More information, including which jurisdictions are 'very low risk', 'low risk' or 'medium risk' can be found on
Travellers entering WA from New Zealand, via another state

Interstate arrivals who have spent time in New Zealand in the previous 14 days will be required to self-quarantine for 14-days at a suitable premises and present for a COVID-19 test on Day 11 of their time in WA.

Travellers arriving in WA directly from New Zealand will be considered international travellers and are subject to the Commonwealth Government’s mandatory quarantine period of 14 days in a State Quarantine Facility (hotel quarantine) at their own expense.

International travel

From March 20, 2020, only Australian citizens, residents and immediate family members can travel to Australia from overseas. For the latest information relating to travel in Australia see the Department of Home Affairs website.

To find out about any flight cancellations please check with individual airlines. 

The Australian Government's Smartraveller website also provides travel advice for Australians.

Cruise ships

All international cruise ships have been banned from sailing into or out of Australian ports, from March 15, 2020.

Visit the Smartraveller website for more information.  

Last Reviewed: 2021-02-23