Skip to main content

Intrastate travel

Travel is permitted throughout Western Australia, including into the Kimberley region. Access into 274 remote Aboriginal communities will remain prohibited.

For more information visit

Interstate travel

As of 12.01am on November 14, 2020, WA transitioned to a controlled interstate border, whereby travel from ‘very low risk’ and 'low risk' states and territories is permitted, with conditions on arrival including declarations, temperature tests and possible COVID-19 testing.

'Very low risk' jurisdictions are those which have had no community cases for more than 28 days. This currently includes the ACT, Northern Territory, Tasmania and South Australia. 

Victoria, New South Wales and Queensland are currently classified as a 'low risk' States.  Low risk jurisdictions are those which have had less than five community cases on a 14-day rolling average. This means travel from these states into Western Australia is permitted, with 14 days of self-quarantine and COVID-19 testing.

More information, including which jurisdictions are 'very low risk', 'low risk' or 'medium risk' can be found on

All interstate travellers will still need to complete a G2G Pass declaration:

G2G Pass Information: Low Risk Jurisdiction

International travel

From March 20, 2020, only Australian citizens, residents and immediate family members can travel to Australia from overseas. For the latest information relating to travel in Australia see the Department of Home Affairs website.

To find out about any flight cancellations please check with individual airlines. 

The Australian Government's Smartraveller website also provides travel advice for Australians. For a fact sheet about border measures go here

Cruise ships

All international cruise ships have been banned from sailing into or out of Australian ports, from March 15, 2020.

Visit the smartraveller website for more information.  

Last Reviewed: 2021-01-25